College Honors Two Faculty Members Elected to National Academy of Engineering

DAVIS, Calif.; April 21, 2017 – Faculty, friends, staff and students gathered on Wednesday, April 19 for an evening reception to honor the election of Professors Deb Niemeier and Ross Boulanger to the National Academy of Engineering, one of the highest honors in the profession.

Dean Jennifer Sinclair Curtis opened the reception with heartfelt congratulations to Niemeier and Boulanger, stating that “moments like this are the best part of being a dean.” Civil and Environmental Engineering Department Chair, Amit Kanvinde, also praised his distinguished colleagues for their contributions to the field and the department.

Ross Boulanger, Dean Jennifer Sinclair Curtis, and Deb Niemeier. Maria Ines Perez-Vargas/UC Davis

Worldwide, Niemeier and Boulanger were two of four elected to the NAE for Civil and Environmental Engineering. The election of two faculty members to the Academy within the same year is also a first for the College of Engineering. Overall, 84 new members and 22 foreign members were elected to the NAE in 2017.

Boulanger, who was honored “for contributions to geotechnical earthquake engineering and the development of procedures for evaluating seismic behavior of soil-structure systems,” acknowledged the important role of collaboration and collegiality within the department.

Niemeier, agreed, thanking her department, “in its entirety” during her remarks and recognizing colleagues and department mentors for their encouragement and steadfast support of her research. Niemeier was elected “for developing groundbreaking tools to characterize the impact of transportation emissions on air quality and environmental justice.”

The National Academy of Engineering is one of four organizations that comprise the National Academies, established by Congress to advise the nation on a wide range of scientific and technical issues.

Photos from the event are available on Flickr.