photo of award recipients and friends

2018 DEAM Recipients and Friends | Pictured (left to right): Chemical Engineering Department Chair Roland Faller, Cynthia Murphy-Ortega ’91, Associate Dean for Facilities and Capital Planning C.P. “Case” van Dam, JoeBen Bevirt ’95, Ken Ouimet ’90, and Dean Jennifer Sinclair Curtis


Each year the Distinguished Engineering Alumni Medal recognizes alumni whose professional and personal achievements bring special honor to the College of Engineering.

These annual awards recognize outstanding UC Davis College of Engineering alumni who meet the following criteria:
  • 10 or more years since graduation from the College.
  • Record of outstanding achievement in any of the following areas: academia, business and public service. Nominations are not limited to these categories, but should recognize alumni with overall high distinction in their field. 
  • Distinguished service to the college, profession or the community.

2019 Distinguished Engineering Alumni Medalists

Learn more about the 2019 medal recipients here and purchase tickets to the College of Engineering Alumni Celebration to honor our recipients here.

  • Kimberly Budil, M.S. ’88 and Ph.D. ’94, applied science
  • Dennis Discher ’86, mechanical engineering
  • Deborah Frincke, M.S. ’89 and Ph.D. ’92, computer science
  • Michael Hurlston ’88, electrical engineering, and M.S. ’91, engineering (GENG)
  • Robert Kiss ’84, chemical engineering
  • John Maroney ’75, mechanical engineering
  • Shelten Yuen ’01, electrical engineering

Alumni Celebration

The 2019 Distinguished Engineering Alumni Medal recipients will receive their medals at the College of Engineering Alumni Celebration on November 22, 2019 at UC Davis. Ticket sales for Alumni Celebration are available for purchase online. Register to attend by November 13, 2019 to secure your spot.

Past Distinguished Engineering Alumni Medalists

  • 2018: JoeBen Bevirt, Cynthia Murphy-Ortega, Ken Ouimet
  • 2017: Margie Evashenk, Katherine Ferrara, Brian Horsfield, Francis Lee, Adam Steltzner
  • 2016: William L. Ballhaus, Ahmed M. Darwish, Layton S. Han, Paul C. Johnson, Elizabeth G. Loboa, Iman Oskoorouchi
  • 2015: Richard Corsi, Scott Maxwell, Carolyn Pura, Babak Taheri, Brian Underwood
  • 2014: April Fallon, Scott Johnson, William Milliken, Elaine Scott, John Wasson
  • 2013: Christine Gulbranson, Jeffrey C. Hoopes, Rose and Dave McCallen, Ted Odell, Earl Rennison, Humberto Rincon
  • 2012: Diane Bryant, Richard Chuang, Ron McGehee, Brian Maroney, Michael Ward
  • 2011: Alfred Chuang, Bryan Jenkins, David Kappos, Christopher Kane
  • 2010: Tim Bucher, Jeffrey G. Canclini, Michael Chajes
  • 2009: Howard Stone
  • 2008: Pamela J. Fair
  • 2007: W. Allen Marr
  • 2006: Robert H. Davis
  • 2005: Indira Samarasekara
  • 2004: Jose J. Granda
  • 2003: Richard Noble
  • 2002: Richard Miller
  • 2001: Arturo Lara Lopez
  • 2000: Bruce West
  • 1999: Karl Gerdes
  • 1998: Stephen Robinson
  • 1997: Giovannae Anderson
  • 1996: Ross R. Allen
  • 1995: Wilfred Brutsaert
  • 1994: Roy Imbsen
  • 1993: Frank Gill
  • 1992: Lucas Dobrzanski
  • 1991: William Gray
  • 1990: Randall M. German
  • 1989: William J. Porter